my year in books

read care know

I have lots of to-read lists. But this year I kept a list of all the books I actually read, which was strangely satisfying. You’ll notice an interesting combination of genres and that is my normal pattern of reading. If you’ve never read science fiction with Augustine’s theology swimming through your head, I highly recommend it. Speaking of which, this is not a list of book recommendations. I don’t necessarily endorse all the books below.

The Chestnut King by N.D. Wilson
Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury
Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
The Crucible by Arthur Miller
Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand*
Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius
War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Wayfaring by Alan Jacobs*
Paths of Glory by Jeffrey Archer
The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne
Life, The Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams
Moby Dick by Herman Melville (begun in 2012)
The Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis*
Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Son by Lois Lowry
The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit
City of God by St. Augustine
So Long and Thanks For All the Fish by Douglas Adams
Star Trek: Crossover by Michael Jan Friedman
Doctor Who and Philosophy edited by Lewis and Smithka
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
Things That Are by Andrew Clements
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Star Trek: Prime Directive by Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stephens
Silver Chief by Jack O’Brien
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury*
The Name of This Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
A Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne
The Complete Poems of T.S. Eliot
Farewell Summer by Ray Bradbury
The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling*
Star Trek: Here There Be Dragons by John Peel
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Catch Me If You Can by Frank W. Abagnale, Jr.
Modern Times by Paul Johnson
Spock’s World by Diane Duane
A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking
Three Philosophies of Life by Peter Kreeft
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card*
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
The Elephant Man by Bernard Pomerance
Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien*

*denotes previously read

3 responses

  1. How did you like “Zen in the Art of Writing”? It’s one of my favorite writing books (even though only two or three chapters had advice that hit the mark for me). Have you read “The Writing Life” by Annie Dillard? I think it’s my favorite book about writing (at least my favorite writing book that I can recommend), even though I don’t remember if it has any advice.

    January 1, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    • I enjoyed it. Ray Bradbury is one of my most beloved authors. I don’t read many books about writing- I prefer to just read the writing. But perhaps I’m missing out as a result. I should check into the book you recommend!

      January 4, 2014 at 9:41 pm

  2. +1 internet high five for Paul Johnson, Peter Kreeft, and John Green!

    January 4, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

