non-communist manifesto

A while ago (10/9/12), I got this idea from The Art of Manliness. (which is weird because I am not a man. but I can be okay with weird.) I do my best to live by it. I fail, but I try. And honestly, life is not even about success. Life is about the trying. I’ve been planning to print it out and frame it in my room so I can see it every day because it’s easy to forget. But today is the first of a new year, and this is who I want to be.

Personal Manifesto:

I will put others above myself, knowing that greatness is found in service.

I will serve, not out of obligation, but out of love. In my service and my sacrifice, I will emulate Jesus who did as much and more for me.

I will not view myself as entitled to any good thing, but remember that each day is more than I deserve.

I will not speak ill of anyone out of senseless annoyance.

I will be kind rather than clever.

I will walk with open eyes to see the beauty all around me and I will praise its Creator.

I will use the talents God has given me to bless others and bring Him glory; I will not allow them to gather dust due to fear or apathy.

I will not make decisions designed to put myself in the spotlight.

I will surround myself with depth and wisdom in literature, films, and friends; I will not be trivialised by this culture.

I will not be deceived by the ideals of the world. I will not look for happiness in money, fame, men, opportunities to do what I love, or any of the desires of my fleshly heart. I will seek and do the will of God and remember that real happiness can only be found in the center thereof.

I will do all through the strength of Christ, knowing that I am too weak to win my battles alone, but that He has already won the war.

Other plans for this year include:

Taking a class on Latin

Intensive reading (my list is so long that I don’t have time to post it)

Selling my art on Etsy in partnership with my talented sister

Saving all my money for future travelling adventures (i.e. England…)

Volunteering at a local pregnancy centre

Coaching speech and debate and chaperoning my sister at tournaments

Running

Writing every day when possible (“You must write every single day of your life… You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads… may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world.” -Ray Bradbury)

There’s a really fantastic quote by Hemingway: “Courage is grace under pressure.” I’ll probably be writing that on my arm a lot this year.

structure on change

2 responses

  1. Man… that’s really good. All of your points really convicted me and especially these two:

    “I will not speak ill of anyone out of senseless annoyance.

    I will be kind rather than clever.”

    January 2, 2013 at 11:47 pm

  2. You have my support and prayers. 🙂

    January 3, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

