three wishes

Hello, Stonehenge!

I haven’t written in a while and the words aren’t sliding right. My flow of consciousness is a frayed string and words are beads that don’t quite fit. The string needs licking. The bead-words need coaxing. Come on, recalcitrant vocabulary. Here, boy.

I have legitimately never before thought of my vocabulary as one entity in possession of a gender. That was weird.

But anyway, skybound audience, I thought you might be interested in my dreams. Don’t psychoanalyse me, if you please. Keep all that Freudian nonsense to yourself. I don’t mean my night-dreams, when the heater’s on and the computer’s on stand-by and the Cheshire cat hovers at subconscious cross-roads, telling me that it doesn’t very well matter which road I take, since I don’t very well know where I want to go. No, I mean my  “unfulfilled ambitions”. Of life, you know. Wendy said hers is to write a great novel in three parts, about her adventures. Mine also include writing. And lots of stairs, actually. I just noticed that tonight.

1. My number one Most Exciting and Dearly Beloved dream and ambition is to own a bookstore in Boston or Britain; a bookstore with an upstairs apartment where I can live and write books or articles or poems or anything verbose.

2. My number two Almost-As-Exciting and Beloved ambition is to live in a lighthouse. With a massive library. And write books, etc.

3. Also, I want a corgi.

As far as fulfilling these ambitions go, I lack only, eh, about 7/10ths of a fortune.

Sometimes I feel like a hitch-hiker without a backpack.

Here’s a thing, though- I wasn’t meant to have everything I want. (hey, how about that!) Man does not live by bread alone, and Grace does not live by travel and libraries and songs alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.

“For when dreams increase and words grow many there is vanity, but God is the one you must fear.” Ecc. 5:7

Let’s have adventures everywhere. But especially? Let’s have them here.

5 responses

  1. Oh there are so many times where I feel like the hitch-hiker without a backpack. :/ Good way of putting it. I liked this alot! I admire your imaginative vocabulary as well. o.o

    November 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  2. Very well spoken, Grace! I must admit an escaped chuckle at the ‘here boy’ 😀 As far as dreams go, who says they will be unfulfilled? If God has laid a desire in your heart then just go for it! Personally, I’m looking forward to visiting that book shop one day. May I request that you carry T.S. Elliot’s essays and critiques, though?

    November 16, 2012 at 10:54 pm

  3. Joseph

    It’s been too long since I’ve left you a blog comment, but I’ll have you know- I have been keeping up with it.

    Dreams are essential, even if we don’t always attain them. They stretch us to our fullest potential, they can help us find doors that we didn’t see before. As far as backpacks go, it’s what’s inside that counts, and it takes time to fill one and a lot of planning for the journey. Good post.

    November 17, 2012 at 7:50 am

  4. Wow, our dreams are very similar. Weird.

    http://www.josephclarkson.com/2012/10/the-unchosen-paths.html

    November 17, 2012 at 11:27 am

  5. Ellen

    Yay for the lighthouse dream!!! 😀 😀 😀

    November 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

