the born-again identity

Sometimes I try too hard to find out who I am. I study myself, I look for patterns in my likes and dislikes and experiences, but the answers I find are only illusions.

Because my identity is hidden in Him. I am His, and nothing on this fragile, transient earth can define me. I am not defined by my talents. Or my clothing. Or my friends. Or the books I read. Or the movies I watch. I am not a singer, a writer, a dancer, a geek, a grammar nazi, an anglophile, a cowgirl, a Chestertonian, a poet, a friend, a speaker, a wearer of pearls, or a bearer of words. I am His.

And that is the only answer that will ever satisfy. It’s the only category in which I will ever belong. Everything else is a mask, a costume for my short time on life’s stage. Everything else is a lie.

He is, therefore I am. I am His. I am His. I am His.

“I am in Love, and out of it I will not go.”

2 responses

  1. Hello Grace…

    Found your blog from Katy M’s, and I love it. I actually met you at a tournament last year, but we never really talked.

    Everything you write is so poignant, and your wording is beautiful. Anyways, this would have to be my favorite blog post ever.

    🙂

    August 7, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    • Aubrey, thank you so much! After looking around your blog a bit, I’ve concluded that you and I must be incredibly similar, and I hope to see you around tournaments in the future and get to know you better. =)

      August 8, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

