tie-dye and time lords

It’s the last post of the Blog Swap, and I had tinkered with the idea of writing a grand and glorious article to finish out the trio… but then I went to Montana, where I am currently enjoying grand and glorious mountains against which my writing pales.

You may blame the honourable John Ryan for suggesting the topic of “ungracious ranting”.

Why I Find Tie-Dye So Annoying

At first plunge, preceding the baffling stuff,
I tell you that tie-dye is ugly at best.
Applauded by summer camp leaders and such
(Because it’s the kids who take home the whole mess)

Whenever I see its bright splotches and smears
I think (besides summer camps) of a smashed earth.
Like some crazy psycho made play-doh of trees
And water and tore up his whole backyard turf.

It’s also disturbing. An insult to eyes
That ‘specially appreciate thought-over art.
Remember the summer camps that seize tie-dye
As a desperate distraction (bad choice on their part).

But the most absurd thing about tie-dye, by far,
Is the fact that all my fine rantings up top
Can also be used to support and affirm
The same loony pattern! We spin till we stop.

(This post has nothing whatsoever to do with Time Lords. I just stuck that in the title to make it more interesting.)

7 responses

  1. John Ryan

    No Time Lords? I’m saddened.

    July 5, 2012 at 9:06 pm

  2. WOW Grace that’s miss leading I came to this blog post to read about tie-dye and time lords, YOU should be ashed of your self. I like the poem, I do wish you would blog more of you poetry. Hope you have fun everyone from thrall says “Hi, have fun!”

    July 5, 2012 at 9:12 pm

  3. And here I came desperately curious as to what the connection was between Time Lords and Tie-Dye. LOL. Really enjoyed the poem – and so true about tie-dye. Plus, it’s just sooooooo eighties/early nineties. A time that despite great childhood memories, I have no wish to visit again. 😀

    July 5, 2012 at 9:27 pm

  4. Wow. You are something else. lol

    July 5, 2012 at 11:07 pm

  5. Sorry about the lack of Time Lords, everyone! I suppose I’ll have to write a Doctor Who-related post one of these days. =)

    July 6, 2012 at 10:53 pm

  6. L.N.

    Haha! I should show this to a Particular Sister of mine who just made one of these shirts. 😉

    July 7, 2012 at 4:03 pm

  7. I like the colors in tie-dye but wearing it? Nah. ^-^ I loved this post though! =D

    July 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

