my life is a juxtaposition

driving the tractor, pulling fence posts, hauling cedar, making dinner.

sometimes life takes strange paths. I never imagined this.

I’m a country girl……….. with patent leather heels, an extreme sensitivity to the beauty of melancholy music and poetry, an affinity for fairy tales and Europe, and a scholarly mind.

but here I am plunging through brush to yank a fence post out of the ground with my gloved hands, using the steps I learned on the dance floor to avoid tangling my feet in barbed wire, kneeling on thorns as I work rusted nails out of wood (and thinking of new analogies), and holding my 4-year old brother on my lap as I drive the tractor along the fence line.

and the funny thing is… I like it. The high heels can wait. I’ll wear them on Sundays. I’ll write poetry and read aloud to my sister in the evenings. I’ll cherish my shelf and memory full of fairy tales and tell myself stories as I lie awake in bed. I’ll save up to go to Europe someday, and I’ll study history and theology and literature when I can.

but watch for me running across the grazing field with pliers in my pocket, stretching electric fence wire from here to kingdom come, buying new leather gloves and work boots, and being able to do more pushups than most girls. (…not necessarily that last one. =P)

it wouldn’t have been my choice, but life isn’t a “Choose-Your-Own-Adventure” book. It’s a fairy tale, full of unexpected tasks, surprising romances, and… mostly just miracles. And the funny thing about miracles? we can’t choose them. They choose us.

4 responses

  1. 🙂 This post makes me smile inside. If you can find beauty in the simplest of things, the world can indeed, be a paradise. I’ll take my shovel and join you.

    January 9, 2012 at 2:23 pm

  2. I love this!

    I don’t see why any of us would want to be pigeon-holed into one type of person. Look how much fun you get out of the various things you do, even if some of them seem like an odd combination (to some people!). As another who has varied pastimes which might also be seen as odd combinations, I smiled to read your post, and I thank you for bringing the irony and the fun to my attention once again. The Truth is, God has no limits to His activities, and I think that the more of them we can enjoy with Him, the better!

    ~Homeschool Graduate

    January 9, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  3. Dad

    You’ll study history someday. Meanwhile, make it.

    Enjoying working on real things with you. The vine pull today was super fun and that century old oak is now free to express itself more fully.

    January 11, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  4. This post really hits home for me. Kind of reminds me of the lesson from UP. Beautifully written. Thanks, Grace.

    January 23, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

