NCFCA memories part 3: farewell

So it’s over. There will be no more sitting on dirty carpet waiting to speak after the 4th person on the list. No more spending all day in suits-of-many-layers and stiff black shoes. No more rushing back to the common room to grab a forgotten apologetics box. No more using the convenient phrase, “Um, I have to go give a speech now,” in order to escape an awkward conversation. No more scarfing down Chick-fil-a sandwiches before the next round.

And part of me feels pensive and slightly plaintive. But the loss of the above facets of competition is nothing to me, because it’s YOU I care about. You priceless, ridiculously wonderful people. I don’t want to lose you, and I foresee myself going to great lengths in order to avoid that. =) But “whatever way our stories end, I know you have re-written mine by being my friend.”Β  We seniors are ready to move on, but our readiness is due so much to what we’ve learned from our fellow competitors and comrades.

And I will never forget what you have been to me. “I thank my God every time I remember you.” -Philippians 1:3

More (for everyone I love in the NCFCA)

I remember the beginning
I was a little bit scared.
I was ready for the judges…
But I was so unprepared.

I had been warned you were skillful…
That competition would be tight.
But no one warned me you were wonderful!
I got a shock of delight.

Because you’re so much more than a first-place award.
You’re defined by more than your I.O. boards;
The joy in your eyes is a smile in a thunderstorm.
I felt that spark when I first walked through those doors.
And you’re so much more than a balanced chart.
You’re business-attired works of art.
You scribbled your names on the flowpad of my heart
And I’ll never forget it, even when we’re far apart.

I remember returning
How could I stay away?
We were comrades and allies
And this was our heyday.

We dropped our defenses,
And picked up guitars.
And we whirled through the season,
With songs, words, and linked arms.

And I loved you, ’cause you’re so much more than a first-place award.
You’re defined by more than your I.O. boards;
The joy in your eyes is a smile in a thunderstorm.
I still feel that spark when I walk through those doors.
And you’re so much more than a balanced chart.
You’re business-attired works of art.
You scribbled your names on the flowpad of my heart
And I’ll never forget it, even when we’re far apart.

You’re so much more than I was looking for.
You’re so much more….
Than I could have hoped for.

Now life is so picturesque
Since we’re all here again.
But my time’s almost up–
I’m nearing the end.

Now I’m one of the Seniors.
We almost wish we could stay.
But we are stones full of promise.
And this league is our trebuchet.

Thank you for being so much more than a first-place award.
And defined by more than your I.O. boards;
The joy in your eyes could bring a smile to a thunderstorm.
I still feel that spark as I walk out of those doors.
And you’re so much more than a balanced chart.
You’re business-attired works of art.
You scribbled your names on the flowpad of my heart
And I’ll never forget it, even when we’re far apart.

Β And I’ll never forget it, even when we’re far apart.

❀

This video is a commemoration. A reflection on times of revelry and revery. A wistful celebration. And it’s for you. You are NCFCA.

And because I knew you, I have been changed. For the better. For good.

(p.s. I wanted to get everyone in this slideshow. I really tried. Unfortunately, there are people I know I missed. If I’ve talked you you more than 3 times, you really should be in this… so mentally add yourself. πŸ˜‰ This video is for you, too.)

4 responses

  1. WOW! Love your music! πŸ™‚

    Girl, it aint over yet. πŸ™‚ You changed my life, I can say that for sure. πŸ™‚
    Love you ever so much. πŸ™‚

    ~Alison

    July 5, 2011 at 4:07 pm

  2. And thus…the end. Bravo for a fine finale. (“You’re welcome.”)

    Funny, those things that you listed in the first paragraph aren’t exactly the most pleasant experiences (sitting for fifteen minutes on the floor against the wall, waiting…cramming whopping Jason’s Deli turkey sandwiches before an afternoon duo round…dashing frantically back to the commons for some forgotten necessity)…and yet even those will be missed somehow. Maybe because everything at a tournament is underlined with that unquenchable excitement factor, even those things.

    Slideshow: Everyone looks so radically different in the old pictures! (Especially Paul E. and Ben A., I must say.) Wow…we all really have been at this for a while.

    Grace, it’s been a delight to have you as a friend and to have commonly experienced so many fantastic tournaments over the past two years. I can with certainty say that I too have been changed for good by knowing you and all the fine people in our league. It’s been a life-changing year and a half, a tremendous blessing for which I constantly thank the Lord. It will never be forgotten! πŸ™‚

    –Owen

    July 6, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  3. Almost cried. Almost… but not quite ;). you have outdone me. πŸ˜€ I loved the poem and the slideshow was the best. I do look forward to many more years of fun to come. Years in which I hope, with a passion, that this network of friends will be able to stay connected and make an impact. These have been the best years of my life and I am excited to imagine what the future holds, because this is just the beginning!

    thank you for the wonderful post sista!

    July 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

  4. Aw, Grace…thank you, too. You have changed me for good, too. I will NEVER forget you…unless I get amnesia. πŸ˜‰ In which case, It’ll just be my head as forgets.
    Okay! That was random. But it’s the truth. πŸ˜›

    Love you, sis! πŸ™‚

    Your brother in Christ,
    -NathanH

    July 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

