artificial light

Pervasive memories stifle the urgency
and disguise what you think of me by hiding your destiny.
Why does this avenue waive every interview?
Why is it pulling you closer and deeper through?

Empty your latibules* of novels and rusted tools.
Pick up your dying rules; strike the match, light the fuse….
Or polish the castaways, learning from chin-up days.
You may revive your faith if you pull back the shades.

There is significance in each reconnaissance.
Heavier surveillance is no evangelist.
Confirm your own reasoning, but don’t act so cynically.
Truth is the lightning that shows us what we could be.

*hiding places

3 responses

  1. Lovely Grace. 😀

    May 5, 2011 at 12:54 pm

  2. Wow. I’m thinking of it in terms of what you told me in Arlington…
    Beautiful. You paint such a picture…it should be put to music.

    -DunveganHighlander

    May 7, 2011 at 10:26 am

    • Thanks.

      But I can’t… I don’t know what it’s about anymore. It surprised me again. I sort of wrote it about skepticism… a trend I’ve seen very briefly among my friends in recent times. But today I read it again and turned it around to apply to me personally. And then all my certainty dissolved, because I think my words were preaching at me, and not other people.

      May 7, 2011 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

