Turn up the heat

Ohhh, guess what! There was this tournament, and all these people who are incredible, and this ugly building which is like home to Region 4, and some briefcases and cameras and guitars… and there were also some people talking in rooms. I’m not sure what that was about.

…I remember when I walked through those doors for the first time two years ago, little dreaming how my life would be changed. And I remember when I first realized the truth. When I first knew, “I will never be the same again.” Christina Hastings, your pestering changed my life. I believe you now. I’ve come so far. I wouldn’t trade the change for all the comforts in the world. It has caused me pain… but oh, the joy! More joy than I had ever imagined possible. I won’t go back, because it has played such a role in making my life into a Home.

This is my last year, and I intend to make it the best that ever was. This Warm-up tournament was a good start, I must say. Thanks to everybody who helped make it so, and congratulations on all your achievements.

I feel Warmed-Up now. So the heat’s going up this week, and we’ll see what kind of gold comes out of this fire….

P.S. Here’s the quote exchange of the week:

Beth: So what has been everyone’s highlight of the tournament? Besides breaking.
Me: Besides Brady?!?

12 responses

  1. Ditto, ditto, ditto all the way. I can entirely identify…even if I came in in a different age. 🙂

    Beautiful slideshow. PERFECT song…

    Okay. I’ve been reading too many ballots, eh? 😉
    Thanks, Grace. I am so blessed to be able to call you a friend.

    God bless!

    -NathanH.

    January 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  2. Thanks. I’m thankful for your friendship, too!

    I hope the slideshow flows. Because it’s really annoying that the pictures are so meticulously lined up that the slightest glitch with the computer messes up the flow. So if something looks wrong, it’s probably the compy’s fault, because I spent forever lining everything up. 😉 And it looks “pretty much amazing” if it runs well. (I’m just kind of excited about it, because it’s the first slideshow I’ve done where I’ve tried to sync every picture with the music. ) =)

    January 18, 2011 at 6:59 pm

  3. very nice slideshow. somehow you’ve managed to capture a little of the tournament in just four minutes (and one second).
    🙂

    January 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm

  4. Brady? Really?!?!? I never imagined he was your type. 😉

    Tournament videos always make me jealous. 😛

    January 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

  5. Paul, that was ridiculously uncalled-for. =P

    Watch your language, ’cause I have comment moderation. *rolls eyes*

    January 19, 2011 at 9:49 am

  6. Wonderful tournament…definitely one of my top three favorites ever. And you got some cool pictures to match it. 🙂

    I’m so excited about this season. For everything that’s ahead and for everybody.

    January 19, 2011 at 1:28 pm

  7. Bwahahah! Oh, epic. Wow, I am just now coming to the realization of how much I am going to miss those tournaments, and it kind of hurts. but who says I can’t come back and haunt yall as a judge? *evil laughter in background*…*ahem*
    Yes, ridiculously fun, and I look forward to more. thanks for the post Grace.

    January 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  8. I’m going to miss it too. But then I remember that we’re going to net a bunch of alumni and all haunt the league as judges together! And that makes me feel better.

    January 19, 2011 at 4:05 pm

  9. And I just have to say that the song you picked for this slideshow gave me chills and made me want to cry. It was an awesome week.

    January 19, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  10. Loved the slideshow! And I’m glad God could use the pestering for good. 🙂 And it will be so epic to go to tournaments and judge with you someday… and eat gummy bears and borrow hair curlers and talk after the lights are out just like we used to at tourneys. 😀 ❤

    January 19, 2011 at 11:30 pm

  11. @graceeinkauf I won’t say what I was about to say, but if you knew what I was about to say then you wouldn’t let me say anything the rest of my life. Enough said.

    January 20, 2011 at 12:30 am

  12. Grace, you’ve gotta admit that it was really weird in the context of “turn up the heat.” WHAAA…

    It wasn’t even that hot… it was freezing the first day.

    January 20, 2011 at 11:20 am

Leave a Reply

