Imagine me singing the following.

I wrote this a few weeks ago, as a bit of a poetic experiment. It needs me to write chords for it. And it needs a name. I cannot flush one out of hiding. Help. =) (p.s. I actually was painting the  Union Jack on a wooden wastebasket that day.)

Sitting alone on my bedroom floor
armed with a paintbrush, which makes me more
than an aimless dream… unkempt scheme of philosophy.

I’ve some songs in my head, and a phone that vibrates
a book to chew, and some happiness to chase,
But I’ve crossed my knees, knitting my dreams, and unraveling them again.

I can paint the splinters away from a wastebasket with a wooden jacket…
I can hum to shove the glum misgivings away from my mind’s active play.
But I can’t paint the Union Jack without a diagram and a steady hand
And I can’t hold my heart, ’cause it escapes to you all over (all over again).

Traveling alone across the sky
beyond those trees which hide the rise
of the sun… I’ve begun to wish this journey done.

One imagination all by itself
means unfortunate loss of untold wealth
If we could ride our bikes together one night, I might… revive.

I can paint the splinters away from a wastebasket with a wooden jacket…
I can hum to shove the glum misgivings away from my mind’s active play.
But I can’t paint the Union Jack without a diagram and a steady hand
And I can’t hold my heart, ’cause it escapes to you all over (all over again).

I raise the end of my long black paintbrush
To my mouth, since the going’s rough.
I throw aside some cares and play
I’m Audrey Hepburn for an hour today

I can paint the splinters away from a wastebasket with a wooden jacket…
I can hum to shove the glum misgivings away from my mind’s active play.
But I can’t paint the Union Jack without a diagram and a steady hand
And I can’t hold my heart, ’cause it escapes to you all over (all over again).

But I can’t hold my heart, ’cause it escapes to you all over (all over again).

6 responses

  1. I don’t hae a name…your poem is esoteric, obviously. (Haha! That sounds oxymoronic (not a word).) If I were certain as to just what you were talking about… 😉
    But fun, anyway.

    I say, I KNEW you were going to release another poem soon!!!! Yesterday, I was determined to post mine-one I felt was coming-before you, but it didn’t come in time. You beat me every time.

    -NathanH

    October 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm

  2. paint?

    October 6, 2010 at 8:59 pm

  3. Forget writing a melody, I just rapped the entire thing 30 seconds ago.

    October 7, 2010 at 12:57 pm

  4. “I throw aside some cares and play
    I’m Audrey Hepburn for an hour today”… 😀

    Ahhh, so you’re another person who’s noticed my sad mouth. {I saw the blog comment you left on Michaela’s Laendler video…about how I look sad, even though you know I wasn’t.}
    It’s annoying, my mouth. 😛 because it just naturally turns down a bit at the edges when my face is kept straight, and people *always* think I’m mad, or sad, or grumpy, or…yeah. Even though I’m totally happy inside. ^_^ :sigh: Guess I need to learn to walk around with a PASTED smile so people know I’m not sad, despite my rather sad mouth. heehee.

    October 7, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  5. I lOVE IT!!!! nuf said. 😀 😀

    October 7, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  6. “I Can’t Hold My Heart” Excellent!

    October 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

