Because You Dance

I found this on my computer from February 8 of this year. I find it every so often, and revisiting it always makes me rather content, because I like it, and I like that I wrote it. The good things I write sort of make up for the bad ones. As the Chinese proverb says; one joy scatters a hundred griefs. This little poem portrays the undercurrent of true joy that eventually overcomes trials (with help from ice cream).


I can just watch you whirl
Across the ages of chocolate swirl.
Armed with all it takes
To eat it all, the tubs and lakes.
But as you run right through,
You leave no mess of plastic spoons.
But rainbow sherbet light
Laughs in your wake with all its might.

My feet don’t dance your dance.
But my eyes waltz to meet your glance.
I’m happy all the same
While I confront my own first name
And twirl on reams of glass
And smile at you as we pass.
You don’t belong to me.
But you are there, and I feel free
Because you dance.

[This post goes with my last one. I should do a series. =P And, in case anyone was wondering, the title of the previous post was indeed inspired by this poem. 🙂 You should be proud of me for posting so soon after that. And I have another post on the line… so it’s like my blog goes through a period of impersonating a barren desert, and then there’s a flood. You might say I should use a regular schedule… but I don’t really care what you say about that, much as I care about you!! ;)]

3 responses

  1. Why haven’t I seen this before?! Well, I like it very much. And now I’m hungry for ice cream… and feel like dancing! 😀

    My dear, your writing skills never cease to amaze me.

    August 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

  2. Ok…so I read “this” post…..does that make me a fan now?? 😉

    August 13, 2010 at 9:02 am

  3. I have noticed your particular absence as of late… 🙂
    I do like this poem: it’s very…poetic. 😉 jk.
    It’s definatly unique. 🙂 Looking forward to part 3.

    August 14, 2010 at 12:11 am

Leave a Reply

