Eowyn's Song

I get to know characters over time. And recently I’ve discovered how well Eowyn and I would have understood one another. So I wrote her a song. This is based on her fear of  “staying behind bars until use and old age accept them and all chance of valor has gone beyond recall or desire.”

Eowyn’s Song

Empty refrain.
No song knows my name.
Only endless, relentless,
And tuneless dark rain.
What have I done?
My valour unsung.
I’m brave, unafraid,
But unproven, unnamed.

I fear neither death nor pain.
But the gradual fading, vain waiting, and shame
Of a cage.

Do you not know?
I wanted you so.
You could reach and unleash
All my chains, and release
Every clenched thought.
But I’m not what you want.
I’m brave, unafraid,
But unproven, unnamed.

I fear neither death nor pain.
But the gradual fading, vain waiting, and shame
Of a cage.

She has such a realistic character. I think everyone has felt at some point or another the fear that their life wouldn’t count for any purpose at all. This fear is very tangible in Eowyn. Despite a longing to fight for her people… she is commanded to stay at home and look after the women and children. And she loves Aragorn, the king… who tells her that ‘it is but a shadow and a thought that you love’. Perhaps her circumstances might seem unfair. But in the end, she finds that the task she had been assigned was really noble after all, and finds love in Faramir, the king’s steward. (And she does get to do some fighting, which is kinda cool.)

These days, a lot of women (definitely including me, and perhaps men as well?) feel like Eowyn. So many conflicting messages are surging through their ears. But for Christians, the call of Christ is strongest. And a life spent for His service is never a cage.

[Will you look at this?! I just explained one of my poems. Pretty much the only time ever. ;-)]

8 responses

  1. Sounds like the song of a person needing Christ. Because he fixes all that. 😀

    Nice song.

    April 13, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  2. Indeed! She has the most realistic character. I think everyone has felt at some point or another the fear that their life wouldn’t count for any purpose at all. This fear is very tangible in Eowyn. She wants to fight for her people, yet is commanded to stay at home and look after the women and children. But in the end, she finds that the task she had been assigned was really noble after all. (And she gets to fight, too, which is kinda cool.)

    These days, a lot of women feel like Eowyn. So many conflicting messages are surging through their ears. But the call of Christ is strongest, when He beckons. And a life spent for His service is never a cage.

    (Actually, I think I’ll add this into the body of the post.)

    April 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  3. Eowyn might be my favorite LOTR character. And this makes me like her even more. As a random side note, your profile picture looks like her :-D.

    April 13, 2010 at 8:21 pm

  4. You know, that kinda makes me think of myself. 🙂 When I was younger I was ready any day for an adventure! Now I like to think I’m fearless of all those things. 🙂
    That song fits me really well! In some ways….
    But come to think of it………….. I have had an adventure. Not all adventures go under the same definition. There is the adventure where you fight with as sword, or the one where you go places and see things. But the most unrecognized one is the ones that have happened to me. Where your imagination takes you too far. 🙂
    It makes me think of something Wendy’s mother says in the new Peter Pan.
    “There are many different kinds of bravery. There is the bravery of think of others before ones self. Now, you’r father has never fired a pistol or brandished a sword, thank heaven, but he makes many sacrifices for his family and puts away many dreams. And that is why he is brave.”
    That is kinda a cool quote.:)

    April 13, 2010 at 8:25 pm

  5. Beautiful. I could almost hear a tune playing in the back of my head, with a tempo going from fast to slow. That never happens when I read songs, so brava! 🙂

    This definitely brings food for thought. Thanks!

    April 13, 2010 at 9:41 pm

  6. skippinginaroundtherain

    This is beautiful. I’ve been thinking about what “adventure” is lately, and this post makes for lovely pondering 🙂 Thanks!

    April 22, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  7. howdy, awesome blog.

    August 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  8. JoAnne Monroe

    wow, I really your song for Eowyn. 🙂
    Like Eowyn (and so many others) I have felt fear of being unable to serve and protect the people I love. But (as you said) service in Christ is not a cage, but the gateway to freedom.

    Thank you!

    September 6, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Leave a Reply

