Mere Color

“Mere color, unspoiled by meaning, and unallied with definite form, can speak to the soul in a thousand different ways.” -Oscar Wilde

I think I could write a song called ‘Purple’. A song with no words, but a wealth of choral harmonies to wade between. And all would distill into lavender sweetness at first, and falter with a vulnerable flutter, but then it would merge into a highway of torrential grandness, and the color would deepen and deepen until– until its beauty was too great for the human ear to comprehend. It would end in a flash of clarity, and never resolve, just lilt out of sight and sound….

I think I could write a song called ‘White’. And because white is indeed a color, not just the absence of color, it would be thick and firm… but on the top there would glisten a layer of ruffly coloratura notes, which would lend a sense of innocence. But while white is pure and sweet, it is also strong and proud. So the reigning notes of White’s song would have long voices and measured vibrato, alluding to courage and honor and love. What can black do against such reckless beauty?

I think I could write a song called ‘Green’. It would modulate several times, each key higher than the last. Because green is a growing color. Not only is it the color of growing things, but it seems itself to grow. Green’s theme would be peacefully progressive, blowing from a whispering flirtation to intense and eager friendship. If you ever wanted to be friends with a color, pick green.

I think I could write a song called ‘Blue’. Oboes and clarinets would be called upon to play. And the notes they projected would wash the sea into your throat and the sky under your feet. Listen closely and see anew / the wonders and mercies of the color blue. Don’t look for bird interruptions or green undertones, for you will find none. Blue is vast and foamy and bold, and it calls. One could be subsumed forever into such fullness of life.

I think I could write a song called ‘Red’. It would be busy, it would be fast. Almost too fast, for before you scarcely had time to register the definite pattern of flickering, lively notes, it would vanish in a whirl of presumptuous authority. But you would smile, and probably play it again.

I don’t think I could write a rainbow. But I can let the elusive thoughts of such a melody caress my mind… and then I can go outside and watch the colors of the world splash by.

If you don’t have anything else to do… maybe you could come with me.

12 responses

  1. Ever heard “Yellow” by Coldplay? 😉

    April 2, 2010 at 9:57 am

  2. No, I haven’t. This whole post was sort of inspired by a couple piano songs I came across, called Bright Orange and Pink.

    April 2, 2010 at 10:00 am

  3. 😀 I’ll come with you!!!

    April 2, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  4. Pingback: I can go outside and watch the colors of the world splash by | Moogy.Org | Blog

  5. Some people think Chris Martin looks odd in this video…but it’s a pretty interesting song.

    April 3, 2010 at 7:25 am

  6. I think I’ll write a colour song too. 😀 You’re so inspiring.

    ~Hannah Grace

    April 3, 2010 at 2:32 pm

  7. 🙂 Actually, scientifically speaking, white is the combination of all colors (i.e. light) and black is the absence there of…. which is really interesting in comparison to the scriptural usage of light and dark since Christ is the sum of all.

    Plus, it means that we can indeed marry in every color of the rainbow without anyone thinking we’re odd (not that I would care), but no one would even notice, because most people don’t see white that way. 🙂

    April 4, 2010 at 3:43 pm

  8. Yes, and it’s awesome.

    Lol Renee, I laughed. =D

    April 5, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  9. You know, there’s a Christian rock band called RED.

    April 5, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  10. I love this! I never thought of colors in a musical sense. = )
    Blessings,
    Kate

    April 7, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  11. Grace,

    Have you ever read/heard about Olivier Messiaen? Look him up. You might also find the book Resounding Truth by Jeremy Begbie much to your interest. Maybe check it out?

    Your way with words is very, well, not the same as mine ’cause I can’t think of the right word to describe it. But it is lovely, to put it very simply. Thank you for sharing.

    Love,
    Melanie

    May 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

  12. Ha! Well, I just saw Begbie’s book on your post-high school reading list. 😉

    Messiaen plays Debussy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSWatsiBErU

    -Melanie

    May 4, 2010 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

