"What do you mean you still like that song??"

Fireflies. The immediate hit by Owl City that had teens raving over it for weeks. Until… everyone got tired of it. But I never will tire of it. I do, however, tire of people asking me,”What do you mean you still like that song??” =) And so here is my answer, once and for all.

“You would not believe your eyes…” Driving in the morning along the ocean. I was cold, or at any rate, I was shivering. The van smelled so special (I’ll always love that smell). We got out Avery’s ipod and soon ‘Fireflies’ imprinted itself indelibly on my heart, because we were together, on our way, so nervous, so glad! “They fill the open air and leave teardrops everywhere…” The sea foam was shining gold for me, like it had earlier in the breakfast room- that ballroom on the top floor. They could have served us anything up there and it would have been delicious. And I still wouldn’t have been able to eat it, because I was so excited. None of that excitement dissipated as we drove past sun-enchanted buildings. It was only a ten minute drive, or less, but it seemed like a precious lifetime of wonder. “I’d like to make myself believe that planet earth turns slowly…” I smoothed my skirt, fiddled with my lip gloss, and was so thrilled that first morning. Unbelievably nervous and excited. I write it how it felt, and my fingers are trembling now like they did then. The jolt when we rolled into the parking lot was the sudden leap of my heart. Getting out of the van, I donned my lace gloves and Avery borrowed a pair. Holding hands like ridiculous children, we scampered across the blessed Corpus Christi asphalt. We found the Clarkson’s and did some impromptu hopping about. It wasn’t cold, so what was with my trembling? I was bubbling over like a fountain with a shot of dish soap. We fluttered/skipped/walked to the nearest entrance, but hardly anyone was in the church yet, so we waited by the stairs. Renee Sprinkle said hello (I love her), Mrs. Aschmutat as well, and Phil gave Avery and I quick hugs before he went to help set up registration. “Cuz I get a thousand hugs from ten-thousand lightning bugs as they try to teach me how to dance!” I noticed a skate park out the window, and Avery and I laughed at nothing in particular as we stood together examining its concrete simplicity. We walked back down the hallway towards the stairs, still chuckling (and still trembling, on my part, at least!), and oh! there was Tim coming down! Somehow we managed to hug on the second step or so, before my brown pumps betrayed me into tripping backwards slightly, and we had to descend a few inches to earth. “The disco ball is just hanging by a thread.” Did I mention how much I was smiling? How could I keep myself from it? My brother, and Avery, and a whole four days in front of us! I hugged Ed again. Soon it was a blur in that building, as kids came filing through, and tables were being carried, and interns were flying around like maniacal fairies. “I saved a few and I keep them in a jar.” Registration magically appeared, and I waited in line, not knowing most people, but ready for anything. Eric Fleming looks crazily like his older brother. I heard Tim tell his fellow intern Kelsea, ‘see my sister Susan?’, and I smiled even wider. I got my name tag with the whimsical purple-faced parrot on it (that name tag we were supposed to relinquish at the end of the conference, but I have it still, by accident. And I’m happy about that!), and somehow I remembered to find Mrs. Aschmutat at the food table and register for meals, and I kept hugging people I knew. I ended up in this small room, sitting and waiting for general assembly to commence. “everything is never as it seems…” And as I sat there with a whole row to myself, I could feel the inside of my heart begin to tremble on the brink of change, accompanied by the inspiring instrumental music of Michael W. Smith. (But it isn’t his music that conjures up these memories!) So began one of the best weeks of my life.

I cannot be thankful enough for that wonderful, marvelous, absolutely sensational week! The repercussions still fly through my bloodstream, waking the senses, forcing up laughter. I cannot hold it in! I was so happy, and happiness returns at the mere memory of CFC.

This is why I still like that song. πŸ˜‰

5 responses

  1. *sigh* I love that song so much! Actually that cfc was the first time I heard it and every time I listen to it I think about that cfc. It was my birthday….. I had my dream fulfilled of seeing the sea…….. I got to eat as much sugar as I wanted :). So really I love that song because, same as you Grace, it brings back special memories. So many people I talk to don’t like that song but I can say I will love it as long as I’m sane. πŸ™‚

    March 24, 2010 at 8:41 pm

  2. Yes, it’s splendid how memories will come back to you when you do something or hear something that relates to it! It makes that something so very special. πŸ˜€ ❀

    March 24, 2010 at 11:47 pm

  3. I LOVE OWL CITY!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚ I had to do that. πŸ™‚
    And I love my Owl City buddy. πŸ™‚

    March 26, 2010 at 8:41 am

  4. LOL! Okay….?
    I ken what ye mean. I’ve got me own songs like that…

    March 26, 2010 at 5:25 pm

  5. *happy grin* I love that song too. Have I ever mentioned that you have a way with words, Grace?

    ~Hannah Grace

    March 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

