Inside

You walked into that bleak, white room,
And I was there inside your womb.
Blissfully secure… relaxed and unaware.

Voices, I heard hard footsteps,
Then, at the sound of your voice, I lept
Inside my growing heart. I was a work of art.

I clung to your melodious life,
As mine was being wrought inside.
And you were all my world… I needed nothing more.

I felt you recline, as if to sleep,
So comfortable, my dreams would be deep.
But I began to feel so weak… as never before.

Pain.. I didn’t know its ways
Until it grasped me in a daze.
And wrenched my world apart… away from your beating heart.

I don’t think you realized
Your choice meant death for another life,
But though I needed you… you chose your right to choose.

I needed you so desperately.
But you didn’t want to care for me.

Copyright © GraceE

7 responses

  1. daddysgrace

    Wow, that makes one think…

    February 10, 2010 at 10:01 am

  2. Dunvegan Highlander

    Whoa, Grace! It took my breath away when I figgered out what you are talking about-that has always hit me in a soft spot. Well put.

    Ouch.
    -DH

    February 10, 2010 at 3:08 pm

  3. Joseph

    That was really good Grace! Better than the Tim Tebow comercial I think… 🙂

    February 10, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  4. Excellent. And I don’t say that lightly.

    February 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  5. Tearfully stunned, praising our Lord for His grace in my Grace.

    February 10, 2010 at 10:12 pm

  6. Wow that was amazing! It’s so sad!

    February 10, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  7. Wow, Grace — that was simply amazing!! Wonderful job. 🙂

    -Renee-

    February 13, 2010 at 11:40 am

Leave a Reply

